NEWS  |  Leadership

National Disability Award Winners Announced

Tuesday, 8th December 2009 at 10:12 am
Staff Reporter
Winners of the 2009 National Disability Awards were announced at an awards ceremony at Parliament House recently, as part of the lead up to International Day of People with Disability (Dec 3).

Tuesday, 8th December 2009
at 10:12 am
Staff Reporter



National Disability Award Winners Announced
Tuesday, 8th December 2009 at 10:12 am

Winners of the 2009 National Disability Awards were announced at an awards ceremony at Parliament House recently, as part of the lead up to International Day of People with Disability (Dec 3).    

The awards celebrate and acknowledge the achievements and contributions that individuals with disability make to our community, and recognise individuals within our community who have contributed to the disability sector.

Six people were recognised for their contributions, with two people being awarded the Ministers’ Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2009 National Disability Award Winners are:

Sue Gordon – Minister’s Lifelong Achievement Award

After her son acquired a sever brain injury, Sue Gordon has driven significant reform within the disability sector.  Gordon has worked with The Advocacy and Support Centre (TASC) in Queensland, pioneered the award wining Disability Law Project, helped establish the Queensland Criminal Justice Centre (a web based resource for the legal profession on representing people with disabilities in the courts) and established the Disability Action Group Force. 

Robert Strike – Minister’s Lifelong Achievement Award

Robert Sprike spent most of his young like in an institution, and has since worked passionately to empower individuals with intellectual disability.  Sprike is one of the founders of the Self Advocacy movement in Australia, is the current Chairperson of the NSW Council for Intellectual Disability and an educator for the Intellectual Disability Rights Service.

Dudley Afford – Disability Rights Young Leader Award

21 year old Dudley Afford has been recognised for his work to improve the lives of people with physical disability in his own high school and across Adelaide.  Afford’s Disability Access in Adelaide project identified areas across Adelaide where mobility was limited and access needed improvement.  Many of Afford’s recommendations have since been implemented. 

Tina Zeleznik – Business Award

Tina Zeleznik is a passionate advocate for equal rights and opportunities for people with disability.  In 2003 Tina established the charity organisation Disability Works Australia Ltd (DWA), a single point of access for employers to recruit people with disability.  Under Tina’s leadership, 85 large corporations have singed client agreements with DWA, helping more than 8,000 people with high support needs find sustainable employment.

Michael Taggart – Local Government Award

Michael Taggart is a disability advocate and leader, and was instrumental in the integration of assistive PC screen reader technology at the Salisbury City Council.  Taggart led the development of the City of Salisbury’s first Disability Action Plan 1999-2003 and contributed to the Salisbury City Council’s first ‘footpath trading policy’ providing greater footpath access.  Taggart was also the project leader of an extensive local government disability discrimination awareness training package 2000-20003.  

Melissa Noonan – Social Inclusion Award

Melissa Noonan has worked tirelessly as a public speaker promoting community awareness about amputees.  Noonan founded Limbs 4 Life in 2004, a Not for Profit organisation which provides information, knowledge and support to amputees, with the aim of preventing social isolation.  Since then, Noonan has established the AMP-Link forum on the Limbs for Life website to reduce social isolation for amputees in rural and regional communities.  Noonan also works to ensure no amputee goes through the trauma of limb loss alone through the Peer Support Program.

For more information about the award winners, and the fifteen finalists, www.idpwd.com.au/awards



Brennan IT helps not-for-profit (NFP) organisations drive gr...

Brennan IT

Prolegis Lawyers work exclusively for charities, other not-f...

Prolegis Lawyers

Helping the helpers fund their mission…...

FrontStream Pty Ltd (FrontStream AsiaPacific)

NGO Recruitment is Australia’s not-for-profit sector recru...

NGO Recruitment

More Suppliers

Get more stories like this



The Power of Cricket to Help People with Disability

Luke Michael

Monday, 5th February 2018 at 8:11 am

NDIS: Get Big, Get Niche or Get Out


Tuesday, 30th January 2018 at 8:23 am

Calls for Harsher Penalties for Leaving People with Disability in Hot Cars

Luke Michael

Thursday, 18th January 2018 at 4:14 pm

New Research Measures the Value of Volunteers for People With Disability

Wendy Williams

Tuesday, 9th January 2018 at 8:17 am


Luke Batty Foundation to Close as Rosie Batty Steps Down

Luke Michael

Monday, 19th February 2018 at 5:37 pm

Australians Losing Trust in Charities

Wendy Williams

Wednesday, 7th February 2018 at 5:28 pm

Calls to Remove ‘Blanket Religious Exemptions’ for Faith-Based Charities

Luke Michael

Friday, 16th February 2018 at 2:35 pm

Prisoners with Disability Subject to Harrowing Abuse, Report Finds

Luke Michael

Wednesday, 7th February 2018 at 4:19 pm

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Civil Voices
pba inverse logo
Subscribe Twitter Facebook

The social sector's most essential news coverage. Delivered free to your inbox every Tuesday and Thursday morning.

You have Successfully Subscribed!