Bushfire Appeals
News  |  Governance

Not for Profit Reform Council Details Unveiled

Wednesday, 22nd December 2010 at 11:57 am
Staff Reporter
The Minister for Social Inclusion, Tanya Plibersek, has unveiled the terms of reference of the Not for Profit Sector Reform Council.

Wednesday, 22nd December 2010
at 11:57 am
Staff Reporter



Not for Profit Reform Council Details Unveiled
Wednesday, 22nd December 2010 at 11:57 am

The Minister for Social Inclusion, Tanya Plibersek, has unveiled the terms of reference of the Not for Profit Sector Reform Council.

The Reform Council is part of the Gillard Government election promise of wide ranging reform for the Australian Not for Profit sector.

The Council is made of 12 leading figures from the sector, and will help drive the Government’s reform agenda for the sector.

The Council will be governed by the following Terms of Reference:


The Not-for-Profit Sector Reform Council (the Council) will be established by the Commonwealth Government for three years to support the Office for the Not-for-Profit Sector (the Office) to implement the Government's commitment to smarter regulation, reduced red tape and improved transparency and accountability of the sector.


The role of the Council is to provide support to the Office in its role to drive and coordinate the Government's not-for-profit sector reform agenda.

The Council will provide advice to the Government on not-for-profit issues, including:

  • examining the scope of a national 'one-stop shop' regulator for the sector including its role, feasibility and structure;
  • streamlining Commonwealth Government tendering and contracting processes for government funded not-for-profit organisations, including the development of a common form contract; and
  • harmonisation of fundraising and other Commonwealth, state and territory laws.

The Council will also provide advice on the Productivity Commission's report into the not-for-profit sector and other related reviews.

The Council will also support the implementation of the National Compact: working together.


Membership of the Council will be determined by the Minister for Social Inclusion.

The Council will comprise of up to twelve members and will be led by a Chair and Deputy Chair.

Membership will be reviewed annually, to provide a balance of continuing members with new members.

Members will be reimbursed costs for economy travel, accommodation and incidentals to attend the meetings. Sitting fees will not apply.

The Council will meet up to four times per year face-to-face. Additional meetings will be conducted via phone conference.

The Council will work closely with the Office for the Not-for-Profit Sector. The Council may convene working groups as necessary to consider particular issues in depth and report back to the full Council. These sub-groups may consult external experts in the field to inform their deliberations.

The full membership of the Council was announced last week and includes:

  • Linda Lavarch – Australian Centre for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Studies (Chair)
  • Anne Robinson – Prolegis Lawyers (Deputy Chair) 
  • Glenn Appleyard – Australian Accounting Standards Board
  • Ken Baker – National Disability Services
  • Sandy Blackburn-Wright – Westpac, Community Development
  • Kasy Chambers – Anglicare
  • Michael Coleman – KPMG / Planet Ark
  • David Crosbie – Community Council for Australia
  • Cassandra Goldie – Australian Council of Social Service
  • Suzie Haslehurst – Magabala Books Aboriginal Corporation
  • Evelyn O’Loughlin – Volunteering SA and NT
  • Frank Quinlan – Catholic Social Services Australia

Got a story to share?

Got a news tip or article idea for Pro Bono News? Or perhaps you would like to write an article and join a growing community of sector leaders sharing their thoughts and analysis with Pro Bono News readers?

Get in touch at news@probonoaustralia.com.au

Get more stories like this


Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Mental Health Groups Call for Same-Sex Marriage to Prevent Suicide

Luke Michael

Thursday, 21st September 2017 at 4:24 pm

About a Brand – The Leadership Battle for NFPs

John Carroll

Thursday, 6th July 2017 at 8:27 am

Leadership is About Who You Are, Not What You Do

Wendy Williams

Monday, 20th February 2017 at 8:05 am


NDIS not yet in tune with the needs of participants

Luke Michael

Monday, 20th January 2020 at 4:46 pm

Centralised disaster fund dismissed by charities sector

Maggie Coggan

Friday, 24th January 2020 at 5:32 pm

What impact will the bushfire crisis have on homelessness?

Luke Michael

Wednesday, 15th January 2020 at 4:28 pm

New fund paves the way for impact investment in the charity sector

Luke Michael

Friday, 17th January 2020 at 4:34 pm

Bushfire Appeals
pba inverse logo
Subscribe Twitter Facebook

Get the social sector's most essential news coverage. Delivered free to your inbox every Tuesday and Thursday morning.

You have Successfully Subscribed!