Good 360
NEWS  |  Communities

Nominate for Human Rights Award

Monday, 14th August 2017 at 1:54 pm
Lina Caneva, Editor
The Australian Human Rights Commission is calling for nominations for the 2017 Human Rights Awards.

Monday, 14th August 2017
at 1:54 pm
Lina Caneva, Editor



Nominate for Human Rights Award
Monday, 14th August 2017 at 1:54 pm

The Australian Human Rights Commission is calling for nominations for the 2017 Human Rights Awards.

The new Human Rights Commission president, Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher said: “We all know someone, or perhaps a business or organisation, that deserves to be recognised for their inspiring work; for their devotion to making Australia a better place and their commitment to ensuring our rights and freedoms are enjoyed by all, on an equal basis.

“Although I’m only a few days into my role as president of the Australian Human Rights Commission, I’m looking forward to finding out about the great human rights work that you, and others you know, are doing.”

Previous winners of the Human Rights Medal include Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Eddie Mabo, Malcolm Fraser, Ian Thorpe, Jeremy Jones, Professor Fred Hollows, Sister Clare Condon and Dorothy Hoddinott.

On 4 September, nominations close for all eight award categories:

  • Human Rights Medal
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award
  • Community Organisation Award
  • Law Award.

In 2016 the winners included:

  • Human Rights Medal: Pat Anderson AO. Anderson is an Alyawarre woman and advocate for the rights of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, particularly in regards to education, health, early childhood development, and violence against women and children.
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal: Arash Bordbar. Since arriving in Australia as a refugee, Bordbar has volunteered for a number of local and international organisations on asylum seeker issues.
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award: Jane Rosengrave. Rosengrave is a jYorta Yorta woman with an intellectual disability and a passionate advocate for people with disability.
  • Community Organisation Award: Bus Stop Films. For approximately eight years Bus Stop Films has provided film studies and film-making opportunities for people with disabilities, as well as advocating for inclusion in the film industry.
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award: National Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasters Council, the peak organisation of ethnic community broadcasters in Australia.

Details and nomination forms are online here.

Lina Caneva  |  Editor |  @ProBonoNews

Lina Caneva has been a journalist for more than 35 years, and Editor of Pro Bono Australia News since it was founded in 2000.



Brennan IT helps not-for-profit (NFP) organisations drive gr...

Brennan IT

Yes we’re lawyers, but we do a lot more....


HLB Mann Judd is a specialist Accounting and Advisory firm t...

HLB Mann Judd

More Suppliers

Get more stories like this



UN Slams Australia For Marriage Postal Survey and Refugee Treatment

Luke Michael

Friday, 10th November 2017 at 4:00 pm

Finalists Named in 2017 Workplace Giving Excellence Awards

Lina Caneva

Wednesday, 11th October 2017 at 4:16 pm

Sector Rallies Over Asylum Seeker Welfare Crackdown

Wendy Williams

Tuesday, 29th August 2017 at 8:44 am

Awards Recognising Leadership in Shared Value Are Now Open

Rachel McFadden

Tuesday, 4th July 2017 at 2:58 pm


Red Cross Moves to Wage-Based Fundraising Model

Lina Caneva

Thursday, 16th November 2017 at 8:30 am

Disability Advocacy Group Fights to Restore State Funding

Luke Michael

Thursday, 9th November 2017 at 8:37 am

Concerns Raised Over New ACNC Board Appointments

Luke Michael

Monday, 20th November 2017 at 2:28 pm

New Same-Sex Marriage Bill Looks to Protect Faith-Based Charities

Luke Michael

Monday, 13th November 2017 at 5:25 pm

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Good 360
pba inverse logo
Subscribe Twitter Facebook

Get the social sector's most essential news coverage. Delivered free to your inbox every Tuesday and Thursday morning.

You have Successfully Subscribed!