Close Search
News  |  CultureCulture news

Meet this year’s Impact 25

3 March 2020 at 8:18 am
Wendy Williams
Over 28,000 people voted for this year’s winners

Wendy Williams | 3 March 2020 at 8:18 am


Meet this year’s Impact 25
3 March 2020 at 8:18 am

Over 28,000 people voted for this year’s winners

The votes are in. From a shortlist of 150 individuals, the sector has chosen the 25 most inspiring and influential people in the social economy for 2019.

The Impact 25 winners include the co-founder of an organisation supporting farmers, a former NSW fire chief, the youngest ever director of St John Ambulance QLD, Australia’s Local Hero 2020, and Ms Charity Australia 2019.

More than 28,300 people voted for this year’s winners.

Karen Mahlab AM, Pro Bono Australia CEO and founder, said the Impact 25 awards celebrated them as our current and future leaders.

“In these times when inspiration and a sense of community is surely needed, the winners in this list are activating ‘good’ across Australia,” Mahlab said. 

“Each and every winner lives a life driven by wanting to make a difference.”

The awards, run in partnership with Community Sector Banking, are a well-established accolade recognising the most influential people in civil society as nominated and voted for by their peers. 

This year, more than 430 individuals were nominated to highlight their contributions to the social sector and their wider communities. 

From these nominees, a shortlist of 150 individuals actively achieving positive change in the community were chosen for public voting. 

The Impact 25 winners will be now celebrated at the 2019 Impact 25 Awards night on 19 March, when the judges will also reveal who has been chosen as 2019’s innovator, collaborator and influencer.

For more information or to buy tickets to the awards night see here.

See the full list of winners below or head to the Impact 25 website to read their stories. 

2019 Impact 25:

  • Charles Alder
  • Lorena Allam
  • Michael Andrews
  • Aileen Ashford
  • Maya Avdibegovic 
  • Matiu Bush
  • HY William Chan 
  • Vicki Condon AM
  • Jack de Groot
  • Yvonne Hong
  • Kathy Kaplan OAM
  • Claudia Lennon
  • Jessica Macpherson OAM
  • James Maskey
  • Geraldine McDonald
  • Felicity McMahon
  • Melissa Monteiro
  • Greg Mullins AO AFSM
  • Chantelle O’Donohoe 
  • Esta Paschalidis-Chilas
  • Bernie Shakeshaft
  • Ben Vasiliou
  • Sharon Walsh
  • Duncan Ward
  • Matthew Wright-Simon

Wendy Williams  |  Editor  |  @WendyAnWilliams

Wendy Williams is a journalist specialising in the not-for-profit sector and broader social economy. She has been the editor of Pro Bono News since 2018.

PB Careers
Get your biweekly dose of news, opinion and analysis to keep you up to date with what’s happening and why it matters for you, sent every Tuesday and Thursday morning.

Got a story to share?

Got a news tip or article idea for Pro Bono News? Or perhaps you would like to write an article and join a growing community of sector leaders sharing their thoughts and analysis with Pro Bono News readers? Get in touch at or download our contributor guidelines.
Most Viewed



Get more stories like this


Your email address will not be published.


Poli-Pix: And the winner is…

Wendy Williams

Wednesday, 25th May 2022 at 5:36 pm

Poli-pix round four: Shooting through the wire

Wendy Williams

Friday, 20th May 2022 at 1:05 pm

Poli-Pix round three: Patrick Gorman MP gets into the act

Wendy Williams

Thursday, 12th May 2022 at 4:00 pm

Poli-Pix round two: Kate Thwaites MP understands the value of history

Wendy Williams

Friday, 6th May 2022 at 1:03 pm

pba inverse logo
Subscribe Twitter Facebook