Close Search
News  |  CultureCulture news

Meet your Impact 25 for 2021

25 March 2021 at 8:00 am
Maggie Coggan
Over 19,000 votes were cast in this year’s Impact 25 awards 

Maggie Coggan | 25 March 2021 at 8:00 am


Meet your Impact 25 for 2021
25 March 2021 at 8:00 am

Over 19,000 votes were cast in this year’s Impact 25 awards 

Australians at the forefront of tackling domestic violence, supporting people seeking asylum and changing the narrative around alcohol are among those voted as the sector’s most inspiring and influential leaders for 2021.

From 400 nominations, to a shortlist of 150, this year’s Impact 25 winners have been picked for their innovation, influence, and collaboration following one of the toughest years of our times.  

Fittingly, in the month that marks International Women’s Day, 14 of this year’s award winners are women, three of them proud First Nations women.

This year’s Impact 25 winners also include the founder of a social enterprise giving employment opportunities to refugees and asylum seekers, a leader in First Nations allied healthcare, and the founding director of the Fred Hollows Foundation. 

Karen Mahlab AM, Pro Bono Australia founder and CEO, said that in such a challenging year, it was exciting to see so many bright stars of the social sector celebrated. 

“Last year tested us, and called for inner strength and external action. And many of our Impact 25 have been doing just that for decades,” Mahlab said. 

“I am so proud to be celebrating the extraordinary leaders in our community that inspired us, and continued to help make the world a better place in a time of flux and uncertainty.” 

The Impact 25 winners will be celebrated in a free virtual awards celebration on 31 March, featuring special guests Greg Mullins AO AFSM, former Fire and Rescue NSW commissioner and councillor at Climate Council; Aunty Fay Stewart-Muir, senior Boon Wurrung and Wamba Wamba elder; and Melanie Mununggurr-Williams, Djapu writer and 2018 Australian Slam Poetry Champion. 

The winners of the three Judge’s Choice Awards will also be revealed on the night. 

For more information or to snag a ticket to the awards night head here.

And to see a full list of this year’s winners and their stories, head to the Impact 25 website. 

2021 Impact 25: 

  • Donna Ah Chee
  • Paul Allam 
  • Nassim Arrage 
  • Sister Brigid Arthur
  • Ray Blessing
  • Annabelle Daniel OAM
  • Isaiah Dawe 
  • Megan Donnell 
  • Mark Fitzpatrick  
  • Dr Cassandra Goldie 
  • Gabi Hollows AO
  • Dr Cathy Kezelman AM
  • Amanda Mandie OAM
  • Julie McDonald
  • Paul McDonald
  • Dr Robyn Miller
  • Donna Murray 
  • George Newhouse
  • Shane Nichols 
  • Sam Paior 
  • Liz Thompson
  • Cara Varian
  • Shanna Whan 
  • Sean Willmore
  • Weh Yeoh 

Maggie Coggan  |  Journalist  |  @MaggieCoggan

Maggie Coggan is a journalist at Pro Bono News covering the social sector.

Get more stories like this



Trailblazers of Australian arts recognised

Danielle Kutchel

Monday, 8th August 2022 at 12:21 pm

Poli-Pix: And the winner is…

Wendy Williams

Wednesday, 25th May 2022 at 5:36 pm

Poli-pix round four: Shooting through the wire

Wendy Williams

Friday, 20th May 2022 at 1:05 pm

pba inverse logo
Subscribe Twitter Facebook