Close Search
News  |  CultureCulture news

Representing the ‘strength and diversity of Australia’: 2022 honours list celebrates community

26 January 2022 at 7:00 am
Wendy Williams
Australians from the age of 17 to 99 have been recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours List.

Wendy Williams | 26 January 2022 at 7:00 am


Representing the ‘strength and diversity of Australia’: 2022 honours list celebrates community
26 January 2022 at 7:00 am

Australians from the age of 17 to 99 have been recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours List.

In a year that saw the highest ever percentage of awards for women, hundreds of Australians from across the community sector have been recognised in this year’s Honours List.

Of the 732 awards in the General Division of the Order of Australia, 45 per cent were for service to local communities.

Governor-General David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) said collectively the recipients – whose achievements span community service, science and research, industry, sport, the arts and more – represent the strength and diversity of Australia.

“It has been a challenging couple of years and the recipients announced today are a reminder and reflection of the richness of spirit, selflessness and good in our community,” he said.

Among those recognised were several disability advocates. Dr Helen Nugent AO, National Disability Insurance Agency chair, was appointed a Companion of the Order (AC) for eminent service to people with disability through leadership of social and economic policy reform and implementation. 

Dylan Alcott OAM was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to paralympic sport, particularly to tennis, and as a role model for people with disability, and to the community through a range of organisations.

This year also saw a number of philanthropists recognised for their contributions including John Wylie (AC); Eve Kantor, Graham and Louise Tuckwell, and Mark Wootton who were all appointed Officers of the Order of Australia (AO); and Michael Liffman and Lee Liberman who were appointed Members of the Order (AM). 

Other sector figures making the list included: Deborra-lee Furness (AO), for service to children as an adoption advocate; Elizabeth Lloyd AM (AO), for her work with women and refugees; Alan-Roy Bakamumu Marika (AM), for service to the Indigenous community of North East Arnhem Land; Dewani Bakkum (AM), for service to migrant and refugee services; Catherine Bartolo (AM), for service to youth, social welfare, and the community of Logan; Carol Innes (AM) for service to the Indigenous community of Western Australia; Victoria Marles (AM) for service to conservation and the environment; and Paul Murnane (AM) for service to the not-for-profit sector, the performing arts, and to business.

Peter Curtis, Liz Dawes, Martin Fisk, Silvana Gaglia, Jane Jose, Nicholas Lee and Patricia Russell were among those awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

You can find a full list of this year’s awards here.

Anyone can nominate any Australian for an award in the Order of Australia. If you know someone worthy, nominate them now at

Wendy Williams  |  Editor  |  @WendyAnWilliams

Wendy Williams is a journalist specialising in the not-for-profit sector and broader social economy. She has been the editor of Pro Bono News since 2018.

PB Careers
Get your biweekly dose of news, opinion and analysis to keep you up to date with what’s happening and why it matters for you, sent every Tuesday and Thursday morning.

Got a story to share?

Got a news tip or article idea for Pro Bono News? Or perhaps you would like to write an article and join a growing community of sector leaders sharing their thoughts and analysis with Pro Bono News readers? Get in touch at or download our contributor guidelines.


Create a Reconciliation Action Plan/></a></div></div>    </div>





    <div class=

Get more stories like this


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Poli-pix round four: Shooting through the wire

Wendy Williams

Friday, 20th May 2022 at 1:05 pm

Poli-Pix round three: Patrick Gorman MP gets into the act

Wendy Williams

Thursday, 12th May 2022 at 4:00 pm

Poli-Pix round two: Kate Thwaites MP understands the value of history

Wendy Williams

Friday, 6th May 2022 at 1:03 pm

The first Poli-Pix winners have been revealed

Wendy Williams

Thursday, 28th April 2022 at 12:07 pm

pba inverse logo
Subscribe Twitter Facebook