Close Search
News  |  InnovationTech and AI

Celebrating the best in NFP technology innovation

13 May 2022 at 6:01 pm
Danielle Kutchel
The winners in the Australian Not-for-Profit Technology Awards were announced at a gala dinner on Thursday.

Danielle Kutchel | 13 May 2022 at 6:01 pm


Celebrating the best in NFP technology innovation
13 May 2022 at 6:01 pm

The winners in the Australian Not-for-Profit Technology Awards were announced at a gala dinner on Thursday.

Not for profit and technology superstars have had their achievements recognised in the Australian Not-for-Profit Technology Awards.

Presented by Infoxchange and Connecting Up on 12 May during the Connecting Up Conference, the awards acknowledge the achievements of organisations and individuals working in Australia’s not-for-profit sector, across technology innovation and service excellence.

Winners in the seven categories were selected by a panel of judges including CEO of Community Council for Australia David Crosbie, board member of Women in Innovation South Australia Megan Short, and Infoxchange Group CEO David Spriggs.

Spriggs praised the high standard of the almost 70 nominations received.

“During what has been an incredibly challenging few years, particularly across the not-for-profit sector, it is fantastic to see so many dedicated people continue to work tirelessly to improve the lives of our most vulnerable,” he said.

In fact, the standard was so high that some categories saw joint winners announced.

The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Best Accidental IT Person – Kirsten Miles from Safe Steps.
  • Best Social Media Campaign of the Year – Global Citizen Oceania for the Global Poverty Project Campaign.
  • Best Technology Achievement by a First Nations Person – Kira-Lea Dargin from the NSW Aboriginal Land Rights Association and Wayne Harvey from Community First Development.
  • Not-for-Profit Technology Innovator of the Year – Shared by Justice Connect, Orygen Digital and Amplify Social Impact Online at the Centre for Social Impact. Commendations in this category were awarded to Humanitix and Marrickville Legal Centre.
  • Not-for-Profit Technology Lifetime Service Award – Walter de Jong from Work Ventures and Manar Ahmad from Helping ACT. A commendation in this category was awarded to Jessica MacPherson from Blaze Your Trail.
  • Technology for Community Impact Award (Best Private Sector Organisation) – Connecting You to a Better World, GoodTel.
  • Not-for-Profit Technology Volunteer of the Year – Rubinah Ahmad from the Australasian Muslim Times (AMUST) and Kevin Whelan from U3A Victoria.


Danielle Kutchel  |  @ProBonoNews

Danielle is a journalist specialising in disability and CALD issues, and social justice reporting.

PB Careers
Get your biweekly dose of news, opinion and analysis to keep you up to date with what’s happening and why it matters for you, sent every Tuesday and Thursday morning.

Got a story to share?

Got a news tip or article idea for Pro Bono News? Or perhaps you would like to write an article and join a growing community of sector leaders sharing their thoughts and analysis with Pro Bono News readers? Get in touch at or download our contributor guidelines.


Create a Reconciliation Action Plan/></a></div></div>    </div>





    <div class=

Get more stories like this


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Full program confirmed for the Connecting Up conference 2022


Thursday, 28th April 2022 at 7:50 am

$1M in pro bono tech services to help not for profits be amazing-er


Tuesday, 29th March 2022 at 7:15 am

New tool launches to equalise the sector

Maggie Coggan

Wednesday, 16th March 2022 at 4:40 pm

The robot-led solution helping marginalised communities find legal help

Maggie Coggan

Tuesday, 1st March 2022 at 8:07 am

pba inverse logo
Subscribe Twitter Facebook